Seven professors recognized with Endowed Teaching Chair award

Presdient Armstrong takes a selfie with a class

Sara Varela


The Broward College Foundation recently recognized seven exceptional faculty with the 2018 Endowed Teaching Chair awards. The ETC is a program funded by businesses and donors that provide grants for professional development and classroom projects that enhance the learning experience for students.

Each award is sponsored by one specific organization and consists of $10,000 for the winner. Winners are selected following an in-depth review of their work and a presentation to a panel of peers.

The 2018 winners are Robert Gallagher, an Assistant Professor of History, Behavior, and Political Science, who also serves as the advisor for the Gender-Sexuality Alliance at BC, recognized with the Southeast Banking Corporation Foundation ETC.

Gallagher was named South Campus Professor of the Year in 2017, and currently serves as a faculty senator on the grade appeal committee. He is in the dissertation phase to obtain his doctorate in human services from Walden University.

“Broward College is the best place I’ve ever worked in my life and my students are the best I’ve ever had,” said Gallagher.

Assistant Professor of Business Administration Lynn Slossberg, an attorney, real estate broker, and author of two national paralegal textbooks, was awarded her second Sun Sentinel ETC.

Slossberg has been a professor of paralegal for the past 25 years and is a member of the Broward College Paralegal Studies Advisory Board, as well as the advisor to the paralegal student club.

Lidia Berbeci, an Assistant Professor of Chemistry that spends Monday evenings teaching general chemistry along with a group of students at a Fort Lauderdale homeless shelter, was awarded with the Emil Buehler ETC.

Berbeci is currently participating with other chemistry faculty in a Course Based Undergraduate Research Program.

Assistant Professor of Psychology Jillian Wojcik, who was named Professor of the Year in 2015, is the recipient of the Stephen C. Baker ETC. Wojcik has developed four psychology courses for BC Online.

Yvonne Simone, instructor and program manager of the Respiratory Care program at BC, was recognized with the Wanda Thomas ETC.

Simone was a speaker at the 2009 Florida Society for Respiratory Care Sunshine Seminar, where she talked about Current Trends in Nebulizing Inhaled Medications.

Lisa Rockford, Assistant Professor of Art, advisor of the Art Club, and emerging scholar of the QEP Critical Thinking Learning Society, was awarded the A. Hugh Adams ETC. Rockford was named a “Rising Star” in Gold Coast Magazine in 2014 during their annual “40 under 40.”

Lastly, Dyanne Martin, Assistant Professor of English and 2014 Professor of the Year, received the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation ETC. Martin is currently working to get her doctorate in Comparative Studies at FAU this year.