NFL Super Wildcard Playoff Weekend

Jordan Stephenson Staff Writer

When talking about the NFL Super Wildcard Playoff Weekend, the first two playoff rounds date back to the postseason format that was first used in 1978, when the league added a second wild-card team to each conference. The first round of the playoffs is dubbed the wild-card round (or super wild-card weekend). 

The NFL does not employ a fixed bracket system; instead, the results of the Wild Card games determine the Divisional playoff pairings, with the lowest remaining seed in each conference traveling to the first seed and the second-lowest remaining seed traveling to the second-highest remaining seed.

As reported by Manca, only seven wild card teams have won the Vince Lombardi Trophy: the Oakland Raiders in 1981, the Denver Broncos in 1998, the Baltimore Ravens in 2001, the Pittsburgh Steelers in 2006, the New York Giants in 2008, the Green Bay Packers  in 2011 and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers .

Four other teams also reached the Super Bowl as wild cards, but were unable to become champions: the Dallas Cowboys in 1976, the New England Patriots in 1986, the Buffalo Bills in 1993, and the Tennessee Titans in 2000.

Monday, January 15, the Cincinnati Bengals took on the Las Vegas Raiders on NBC and Peacock in the inaugural 2022 NFL Playoff game beginning at 4:30 Eastern time. At the beginning of the 2021-22 season, the NFL extended the regular-season plan from 16 games to 17, according to Yahoo.

Monday night’s game saw Joe Burrow and the Bengals taking on Derek Carr and the Raiders in a postgame interview after the Bengals defeated the Raiders 23-16 to earn their first postseason victory in 22 years. Josh Allen and the Bills face up against Mac Jones and the Patriots, with Devin Singletary scoring from 16 yards out. 

Mike Evans catches a wide open 18 yard pass from Tom Brady and the Buccaneers vs. Jalen Hurts and the Eagles as a controversial play or ruling during the final seconds of the game proves costly to the Cowboys fans delusional playoff expectations.  

Pat Mahomes and the Chiefs embraced Ben Roethlisberger, ahead of what could be Ben’s final game as he approaches retirement.

Matt Stanford and the Rams took on Kyler Murray and the Cardinals, with Cam Akers gaining 11 yards before injuring strong safety Kyler Murray inadvertently. 

Following the Wildcard games will be the Super Bowl LVI. The game is set to air on the second Sunday in February. 

Josh Allen and the Bills vs Mac Jones and the Patriots. Image courtesy of